Our Literary Matriarchs, 1925–1953: Angela Manalang Gloria, Paz M. Latorena, Loreto Paras Sulit, and Paz Marquez Benitez



Author: Edna Zapanta-Manlapaz

From the Preface,"..I discovered what I really wanted to write: not the grand narrative of Filipino women writers but the personal stories of four of them--Paz Marquez Benitez (1894-1983), whose story, 'Dead Stars, published in 1925, is the first modern short story in the Philippine literature; Paz Latorena (1908-1953); and Loreto Paras Sulit (1908- ), whose stories were regularly cited in Jose Garcia Villa's annual Honor Roll of Stories, 1926-1949; and Angela Manalang Gloria (1907-1995), whose Poems (1940) was the first published collection of poems by a Filipino woman..Though the particulars of their lives different dramatically, their stories are variations of the same plot discernible in the life stories of all women writers: the incessant search for a private space within which to write, a room of one's own.

You may also like

Recently viewed